faqts : Recreation : Jaipur Travel Guide

+ Search
Add Entry AlertManage Folder Edit Entry Add page to http://del.icio.us/
Did You Find This Entry Useful?

0 of 3 people (0%) answered Yes
Recently 0 of 3 people (0%) answered Yes


Banks In Jaipur.

Mar 31st, 2008 22:24
john smith, http://www.jaipurtourismguide.com/

Jaipur banks business hours: From 10 AM to 2 PM, Monday to Friday and
Saturday from 10 AM to 12 AM except bank and legal holidays
Jaipur banking is conditioned by a traditional infrastructure and as a
result tends to propose rather slow connections with the world banking
As gem transactions are done in Indian Rupees (INR), on a cash-only
basis, Jaipur banks offer:
Foreign currency and Travelers Checks exchange service. Bank machines
(ATMs) where you can withdraw up to 20 000 INR
Warning: Depending on your credit card and the agreement you have with
your bank, it is possible in theory to withdraw at ATMs Indian Rupees
several times during the same day. However, in practice, bad connections
between the ATMs and the world banking system limit the amount you can
It is therefore easier to bring to Jaipur cash or Travelers Checks in
USD, EUR, CHF, GBP, etc., which are readily exchanged when needed.
Of course, credit cards are accepted for all travel expenses.
ICICI Bank is India's second-largest bank with total assets of Rs.
3,446.58 billion (US$ 79 billion) at March 31, 2007 and profit after tax
of Rs. 31.10 billion for fiscal 2007. ICICI Bank is the most valuable
bank in India in terms of market capitalization and is ranked third
amongst all the companies listed on the Indian stock exchanges in terms
of free float market capitalisation.
HDFC Bank 
HDFC Bank was the first private sector bank to be authorised by the
Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) as well as the Reserve Bank of
India for collection of direct tax.
Bank Of Baroda
It has been a long and eventful journey of almost a century across 21
countries. Starting in 1908 from a small building in Baroda to its new
hi-rise and hi-tech Baroda Corporate Centre in Mumbai, is a saga of
vision, enterprise, financial prudence and corporate governance.
Punjab National Bank
Punjab National Bank (PNB) is one of the 500 largest banks in the world,
and enjoys a rich history and heritage. PNB was the first Indian bank to
be started solely with Indian capital. Established in 1895 at Lahore,
and nationalized in 1969, it has worked assiduously to build the banking
sector in rural and urban India. It has presence in remote areas of the
country, cutting across cultural and linguistic boundaries.
The Bank Of Rajasthan Ltd
The Bank Of Rajasthan Ltd is a leading Private Sector Bank with
prominent presence in Rajasthan and having branches all over India.
Allahabad Bank
Allahabad Bank is the oldest public sector bank in India. It was set up
in 1865 by a group of Europeans with a seed capital of Rs 2 lakhs. By
the end of 19th century, the bank had branches at Jhansi, Kanpur,
Lucknow, Bareilly, Jaipur, Nainital, Kolkata and Delhi.
IDBI was set up under an Act of Parliament as a wholly-owned subsidiary
of Reserve Bank of India in July 1964. In February 1976, the ownership
of IDBI was transferred to Government of India.
UCO Bank
UCO Bank is a commercial bank established in 1943. The idea to establish
the bank was first conceived by G.D. Birla, the famous industrialist,
after the historic "Quit India" movement in 1942. The idea was
culminated on the 6th of January 1943 when The United Commercial Bank
Ltd. was born with its Registered and Head Office at Kolkata.
UTI Bank
UTI Bank has posted a subdued performance of 33% YoY growth in its
bottomline for 4QFY05 as compared to the 60% growth witnessed in 3QFY05.
Despite 67% YoY growth in credit, the bank has posted operating margins
of barely 6.1% for 4QFY05 and a dip of 18.0% YoY in operating profits.
The growth in margins is primarily subdued due to the rise in interest
expenses and operating expenses. The contribution from the other income
side continues to be generous with the bank capitalizing on fee-based
revenues (97% YoY).
Vijaya Bank
Vijaya Bank, was established on 23rd October 1931 by late Shri
A.B.Shetty and other enterprising farmers in Mangalore, Karnataka. The
objective behind establishment of the Bank was essentially to promote
banking habit, thrift and enterpreneurship among the farming community
of Dakshina Kannada district in Karnataka State. The bank became a
scheduled bank in 1958.
Bank Of India
Bank of India was founded on 7th September, 1906 by a group of eminent
businessmen from Mumbai. The Bank was under private ownership and
control till July 1969 when it was nationalised along with 13 other
banks. Beginning with one office in Mumbai, with a paid-up capital of
Rs.50 lakh and 50 employees, the Bank has made a rapid growth over the
years and blossomed into a mighty institution with a strong national
presence and sizable international operations. In business volume, the
Bank occupies a premier position among the nationalised banks.
Canara Bank
Canara Bank was founded in 1906 by late Sri. Ammembal Subba Rao Pai. The
Bank was initially named as 'Canara Bank Hindu Permanent Fund'. It
blossomed into a limited company in 1910 and was renamed as 'Canara Bank
Ltd'. In 1969 the Bank was nationalized and thereafter came to be known
as Canara Bank.
Bank Of Rajasthan
Bank of Rajasthan is a leading Private Sector Bank with prominent
presence in Rajasthan and having branches all over India. The Bank Of
Rajasthan Ltd. was established at Udaipur, Rajasthan on the auspicious
day of Akshya Tritiya on May 8, 1943.
Bank of Maharashtra
Bank of Maharashtra was registered on September 16, 1935 with an
authorized capital of Rs 10.00 lakh. The Bank started its operations on
February 8, 1936. Ever since its inception, Bank of Maharashtra is known
as common man's bank. The Bank's initial help to small units has given
birth to many of today's industrial houses.
Central Bank Of India
Central Bank of India was established in 1911 by Sir Sorabji
Pochkhanawala. It was the first Indian commercial bank, which was wholly
owned and managed by Indians. Sir Pherozeshah Mehta was the first
Chairman of the Bank. In 1969, Central Bank of India was nationalized
along with 13 other banks.
Corporation Bank
Corporation Bank was established in the year 1906. Based on the
traditional Indian values of service to the community, Corporation bank
is reputed as one of the well-run banks in the country. Corporation Bank
is a public sector bank with 57.17% of its share capital held by the
Government of India.
Dena Bank 
Dena Bank was founded on May 26, 1938 by the family of Devkaran Nanjee
under the name Devkaran Nanjee Banking Company Ltd. The bank became a
Public Ltd. Company in December 1939 and later the name was changed to
Dena Bank Ltd.
State Bank Of India
State Bank of India welcomes you to explore the world of premier bank in
Chartered Bank
The Chartered Bank opened its first overseas branch in India, at
Kolkata, on 12 April 1858.